Posted by: David McKay | November 6, 2012

Simple.

I just moved. Again. Four times in four years. Just the way it is, I suppose.
But now, I live within walking distance of beer, pizza, used books, a stream, a river, the woods, a co-op, good friends, a library, coffee, breakfast, burgers made with local beef and cooked by a skilled grill-man, dirt roads, a mountain…

This evening I walked to the co-op. I needed some popcorn for election night. I brought a glass jar for the popcorn – organic corn. I brought a jar for the nutritional yeast, too. Ever tried that on popcorn? Do it.

A month-long sojourn with Liza and Johannah of staying with friends, living the gypsy life while our apartment was getting put together took its toll.

It’s good to be in one spot, to think again about baking bread, of making meals, of just slowing down.

Of making things simple.

Making things simple is not so simple. It requires effort to look effortless. But, man, does it feel good when things just fit together.

Randomly, I have started saying this to my 5th graders: “Dalai Lama.” That’s all. Makes me smile, it does, to say that. Simple.

So, bring a jar with you the next time you go shopping. And enjoy the popcorn. Dalai Lama.

Responsibility is not convenient — it’s necessary.

Rethink. Refuse. Reduce. Reuse. Reimagine.

Love.

Responses

  1. Awesome to hear, David! Glad you guys are settled! Enjoy these simple days with your family…you will blink and that little one will be starting school! Will have to try the nutritional yeast..sounds good. All of us need a co-op…was just talking to a friend about that locally the other day…there might be one cropping up in NJ one of these days. 5th grade is a really great age…it sounds like you are enjoying it!
    It IS tough to simplify. My grandfather’s place was just destroyed in Sandy and he’s 96, but it’s still an emotional time of letting go. But when it comes right down to it, we have everything we need when we have people who love us, shelter, clothes, food and water. I’m trying to keep that in mind as I continue to try to simplify my own life. I walked to vote yesterday for the first time ever…it took a little longer, but it was so enjoyable…trying to find more ways to slow down and enjoy the moment.
    Great to hear from you and hugs to Liza and Johannah! 🙂 Kate


Leave a Reply

Categories

