Posted by: David McKay | March 7, 2011

Plastic is just the tip of the iceberg…

Plastics…  Monsanto…  Wisconsin…

Where do I start?

I started over a year ago by deciding to not use plastic grocery bags.  Plastic water bottles quickly followed.

I was at the grocery store a couple of days ago.  “No bag, thank you,” I said as I filled the pockets of my jacket with vegetables.  “I haven’t used a plastic grocery bag in over fourteen months.”

“That’s good, I guess,” the elderly lady who wanted to bag my groceries said.

But while I was in the store, I did some listening.  You know when you really focus on listening to the sounds around you?  Like listening for a particular bird in the woods?  I did that same thing in the store.  And what I really heard was the rustle of plastic bags all up and down the checkout lanes…  Over in the produce section…

I was at my car in the parking lot.  I heard more plastic bag rustling from other customers going to their cars.

I bought one very small item from the office supply store.  The guy working the register asked me if I wanted a bag.  C’mon.  That’s just ridiculous.

Things need to change.

Which brings me to Monsanto.  What they are doing is immoral.  I really cannot talk about this subject yet — it makes me too upset.  Watch the movie: The World According to Monsanto, but be warned that it will piss you off.

 

Things need to change.

Which brings me to Wisconsin.  And Michael Moore speaking to a crowd in the streets of Madison two days ago telling them that America is NOT broke! What a speech!  This is one of the most fundamentally democratic speeches I have ever heard, and it was given two days ago in the streets of the heartland of this country of ours that was supposedly founded on democratic principals.

 

Plastics… Monsanto… Wisconsin…  Can you name a common thread?

I can: Multi-national corporations that only care about the profit margins.

I started with a simple desire to not use single-use plastic grocery bags, and I am discovering just how far of a journey I am truly on…

We, the people, are responsible for the changes that are needed to keep this planet healthy…

Rethink.  Refuse.  Reduce.  Reuse.

Responsibility is not convenient — it is necessary.

Responses

  1. Hearhear!!! I stood, almost paralyzed, wanting to buy some snacks for my family; healthy things, almonds n peanuts… Looking at the cost difference between the fancy organic brand and the store brand organic. The difference??? Store brand in larger, plastic container. Fancy pants brand in smaller glass container. Me? 5 people to feed. I almost cried in the grocery store. And we provide much of our own food from our own land. Where is the justice? Where the truth? Those stupid nuts were probably packaged on the same line. I have been thinking about this all a lot. Nicely written, David.

  2. Thanks, Erica. It’s nice to know that there are other people out there that feel the same as I do. I am going to start growing food for myself this year! I cannot wait!
    David


Leave a Reply

Categories

