Posted by: David McKay | March 4, 2011

Global thoughts…

I was over at Kate’s Considered Life and clicked on the link from her January 31 post that took me to the youtube video, The World According to Monsanto.

I spent most of the morning trying to watch this movie.  It’s just under two hours long, but I had to keep pausing it, as it was making me go through a wide range of emotions: anger, sadness, frustration, despair, back to anger — so many emotions that I do not like feeling.  I went through a whole range of thoughts that would either put me in a jail cell or find me living in a shack in the wilderness.  I do not want either one of those futures.

Nor do I want the future that Monsanto is laying out for the entire planet.

I share Kate’s frustration.  What can I do about it?

Well, I can stop by a friend’s house, and feel cheered up.  I look at Kate’s blog that way — a neighbor’s house.  She doesn’t always write about movies that depress the crap out of you, I swear!  We share an affinity for Robert Frost, I discovered today:

The Pasture
I’m going out to clean the pasture spring;
I’ll only stop to rake the leaves away
(And wait to watch the water clear, I may):
I sha’n’t be gone long. – You come too.

I’m going out to fetch the little calf
That’s standing by the mother. It’s so young,
It totters when she licks it with her tongue.
I sha’n’t be gone long. – You come too.

~Robert Frost

Kate and I live in two different places in the world, but we share some common dreams, one of them being to see this world a better place for those that follow.

We also share a need to relate our dreams — to vocalize them…  I will always have that freedom.  No one can take away my voice.

In the words of Rene Otto Castillo:

Apolitical Intellectuals

One day
the apolitical
intellectuals
of my country
will be interrogated
by the simplest
of our people.

They will be asked
what they did
when their nation died out
slowly,
like a sweet fire
small and alone.

No one will ask them
about their dress,
their long siestas
after lunch,
no one will want to know
about their sterile combats
with “the idea
of the nothing”
no one will care about
their higher financial learning.

They won’t be questioned
on Greek mythology,
or regarding their self-disgust
when someone within them
begins to die
the coward’s death.

They’ll be asked nothing
about their absurd
justifications,
born in the shadow
of the total life.

On that day
the simple men will come.

Those who had no place
in the books and poems
of the apolitical intellectuals,
but daily delivered
their bread and milk,
their tortillas and eggs,
those who drove their cars,
who cared for their dogs and gardens
and worked for them,
and they’ll ask:

“What did you do when the poor
suffered, when tenderness
and life
burned out of them?”

Apolitical intellectuals
of my sweet country,
you will not be able to answer.

A vulture of silence
will eat your gut.

Your own misery
will pick at your soul.

And you will be mute in your shame.

Perhaps a rethinking of our political systems on this planet may be warranted.  Maybe I am not alone with that thought.

Responsibility is not convenient — it is necessary.

Rethink.  Refuse.  Reduce.  Reuse.

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. 🙂 nope, it’s only lately with the depressing movies! LOL!

    I have to check out the ‘America’s not broke’ video – sounds great!

    LOVE ‘The Pasture’ – :))
    Never read the Castillo poem before, but it’s fabulous!!

    Very happy to have you as a neighbor, David! Every time I stop by, it is a welcoming place to be, a place I come to be among friends, where I can learn and grow, be challenged and share thoughts. A happy place, indeed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

