Posted by: David McKay | April 21, 2010

Plastic trash in Barre, VT

I just read a piece in the Huffington Post about the troubling issue of plastic (read it here).

The plastics industry wants us all to believe that there is no problem, that “the cost in pollution is worth the convenience.”

For the average consumer, it is all too convenient.  And for the average person, ignorance is bliss.

Why should I care?  What’s in it for me?  Do I get a quick fix?  If it doesn’t have a direct impact on my life, then fuck it.  I have better things to worry about.  I don’t care.  Someone else will deal with it.

The plastics industry likes that.  They are cramming it down our throats.

The people at my local market know I don’t need a plastic bag for my groceries anymore.  They know!  That may not seem like much, but to me, it is the beginning.

I am making ripples.

Spring is here; I have new tires on my bicycle, and I am exploring my town as I never have before.  It is a beautiful town, nestled in the hills of central Vermont along the banks of a meandering river.  The landscape is bursting with life.

And all I see is trash.  Why is there so much trash littering the world?  Is this just one big garbage can for everybody?  Have we all lost our minds?  How is it conceivable that we are giving no consideration to our environment?

They say, “the cost in pollution is worth the convenience.”  There is nothing convenient about it.  And the true cost is not accounted for.  Not by a long shot.

But it will be, one way or the other.  And I am rippling. . .

Responsibility.

Rethink.  Refuse.  Reduce.  Reuse.

Leave a Reply

Categories

