Posted by: David McKay | April 12, 2010

Plastic garbage on the Dog River

Just a quick note.

As summer approaches, I am eagerly awaiting swimming hole season.  Central Vermont is a great place for swimming holes.  I have been visiting some of my favorites to see what they look like during mud season (there are more than four seasons in Vermont — there are also “mud” and “swimmin’ hole” seasons).

Trash.  I have found a lot of trash, and I cannot just walk blindly past it.  So now I carry around some reusable bags to pick up trash.  I could turn that into a full-time occupation, and maybe, if I can get somebody to pay me, I will someday.

Those swimming holes are a part of my world, and damn it, I am going to keep my part of the world cleaner!

“If we are to survive, each of us must become kaitiaki, which to me is the most important concept in my own Maori culture.  We must become caretakers, guardians, trustees, nurturers. . . . To be kaitiaki is crucial to our existence.” (from the book, A Language Older Than Words, by D. Jensen, quoting Bruce Stewart, a Maori person).

Rethink.  Refuse.  Reduce.  Reuse.

On a side note: here is a link to TIME magazine’s article on the perils of plastic that I found over at Kate’s Considered Life blog site.

Leave a Reply

Categories

