Posted by: David McKay | April 9, 2010

Plastic has made everything cheap

I want to expand on something I said in my last entry: that plastic makes everything cheap.  You could certainly argue semantics with me and say, “inexpensive,” or “affordable.”  You could.

How “affordable” is that bottle of water now that I know the cap will kill a sea bird?

How “inexpensive” is that bottle of water now that I know it requires a great expenditure of water and fossil fuel just to produce the bottle in a day and age when everyone everywhere has concerns about water and fossil fuels?

Plastic makes life on our planet cheap when it is used improperly, and ignorantly.

I have begun to think of the entire life-cycle of the plastic in my life.  It’s a daunting task, but others have come before me to lend me encouragement, and I know others will follow for me to lend encouragement to.  (See the list of people and organizations in the side column).

There is a conversation developing about the responsibility we have towards our world, and the way we treat it.  And we are building momentum.

Keep thinking.  Keep talking.  Yes, it is daunting, but hell, life itself can feel that way, born as I was into it screaming and kicking.

Then I learned to walk.  Baby steps.  Incrementally.  Bit by bit.

And I am doing it again. . .

Rethink.  Refuse.  Reduce.  Reuse.

Responses

  1. LOVE this post! You go, David!

    The momentum IS building.

    I am adding my baby steps to this cause!

    Thanks so much for following my blog!

  2. Well Dave, I think your preaching to your choir. Every comment I’ve seen so far is rah rah lets save the earth from plastic.

    How can you greenies be so short sighted? Secondly, Montpelier and the rest of Vermont was here for all of you non-Vermonters who have come here to save the world. We already created and took care of this state for you.

    As a true Vermonter I will take credit for helping to provide a place that you could come to that was almost free of the strip malls, billboards, industrial plants, mass transit pollution and what ever else mankind created where you came from that drove you out.

    Now, you congregate in one of the safest, cleanest and most environmentally stable states in the US to fight a battle that needs to be fought somewhere else. People come here to do their battles with the world because of all the like minded souls who have escaped the human trash left behind in the places where they were born or raised.

    Stopping someone from using a plastic bag at Shaw’s may make you all shutter with glee that you did something to help the world and that’s OK but it did nothing for those people who were born without a conscience or common sense to use anything properly.

    In the end, it is not the plastic that’s the problem it is it’s misuse that is the problem. If you are concerned about fossil fuels stop driving, stop heating your apartment, stop wrapping your leftovers, drink tap water that has run through a mile of old rusty pipes underground. Plastic is no different then anything else. A hammer just sits on a table until someone moves it. A bag does the same thing which is nothing unless some idiot leaves it to blow in the wind to land in a lake where it should not be.


Leave a Reply

Categories

